Sign up for updates:

About Us

The Jefferson County Medical Society was created in 1877, only a few years after the founding of the City of Birmingham, as the local medical society for physicians in the Birmingham area. Since that time it has grown to include over 2,300 physicians, residents and medical students as members. Our members practice in virtually all medical specialties and serve on the staffs of every hospital in the area.

The Society is governed by a Board consisting of five officers who make up the Executive Committee and ten directors.  Five of the directors also serve five year terms as members of the Jefferson County Board of Health.  The Society also has members who serve as representatives in the Medical Association of the State of Alabama and in the American Medical Association.  The Executive Committee meets monthly and the Board of Directors meets five times a year.

Elizabeth S. Martin, M.D., President

  Pure Dermatology & Aesthetics
  5346 Stadium Trace Pkwy, Suite 100
  Birmingham, AL 35244
  205-682-8022 Fax: 205-682-9446

P. Jeffrey Rickert, M.D., President-Elect

  Birmingham Hospitalists, P.C.
  One Chase Corporate Drive, Ste. 225
  Birmingham, AL 35244
  205-733-6033 Fax: 205-733-6036

Justin Moellinger, M.D., Vice-President

Surgery South, LLC
985 9th Ave SW, Ste. 507
Bessemer, AL 35022
205-481-7485 Fax: 205-481-7494

Scott W. LeCroy, M.D., Secretary-Treasurer

Simon Williamson Clinic, P.C.
832 Princeton Avenue SW
Birmingham, AL 35211
205-780-7053 Fax:

Leon C. "Bud" Hamrick Jr., M.D., Past-President

Urology Centers of Alabama
2700 10th Avenue South, Ste. 505
Birmingham, AL 35205
205-930-0920 Fax: 205-263-5176

Paul J. O'Leary, M.D., Director

Affiliated Mental Health Services
100 Century Park South, Ste. 206
Birmingham, AL 35226                       978-7800 Fax: 978-7802

Weily Soong, M.D., Director

Alabama Allergy & Asthma Center
504 Brookwood Blvd
Birmingham, AL 35209
205-870-9661 Fax: 205-870-1621

Emily Bell Casey, M.D., Director

  Andrews Sports Medicine & Orthopedic Ctr
  805 St. Vincent's Drive, Suite 100
  Birmingham, AL 35205
  205-939-3699 Fax: 205-581-7155

C. Gregory Banks, M.D., Director

Alabama Women's Specialists
2006 Brookwood Med Ctr Dr., Suite 310
Birmingham, AL 35209
205-877-2121 Fax: 205-877-2669


Nathan Douthit, M.D., Director (Resident Member)

Princeton Baptist Center Residency Program
817 Princeton Ave SW, POB 2 Ste. 106
Birmingham, AL 35211
205-599-4822 Fax:

Joshua B. Miller, D.O., Director/Board of Health

2 Chase Corporate Drive, Suite 300
Birmingham, AL 35244
205-732-0138 Fax:

Yocunda D. Clayton, M.D., Director/Board of Health


Sylvie R. Stacy, M.D., Director/Board of Health


Hernando Carter, M.D., Director/Board of Health

Whitaker Clinic of UAB Hospital
500 22nd Street South
Birmingham, AL 35233
205-801-8195 Fax:

Kenny J. Murray, M.D., Director/Board of Health

St. Vincent's East Hospitalists
50 Medical Park East Drive
Birmingham, AL 35235
205-838-6727 Fax: 205-971-5254